Special Meeting of the

Curriculum Committee of Bakersfield College

May 6, 2021 2:30 p.m.-4:00 p.m.

I. CALL TO ORDER

Administrator-Billie Jo Rice Co-chair-Erica Menchaca Co-chair-Mark Osea Angela Bono, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Charles Daramola, Christine Harker, David Neville, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Misty Stowers, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Marisa Marquez, Edie Nelson.

Guests- Michelle Pena, Hal Mendoza, Heather Shaffstall, Gary Blackburn, Pam Kelley.

II. ROLL CALL – Establishment of Quorum 2:35 p.m.

III. OPPORTUNITY TO ADDRESS THE COMMITTEE

(2 minutes per item)-None

IV. ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA

(additions or changes can only occur when immediate action is required, which did not come to the attention of the Co-Chairs until after the agenda was posted; requires approval of 2/3 of all confirmedvoting members; not applicable during special or emergency meetings)-None

V. REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

V.A. 4/29//2021-Tabled until next meeting

VI. ACTION ITEMS

VI.A. Second Agenda Revised Curriculum (Consent Agenda) (All consent items are to be approved in one motion unless a member requests separateaction on a specific item and states the reason for separate action.) *Refer to Exhibit VI*

- VI.A.i Course Deletions- ACDV B50, ACDV B61, ACDV B80
- VI.A.ii Revised Courses- FDSV B50, FDSV B51, FDSV B52, FDSV B55B, FDSV B55D, FDSV B55E, FDSV B55K, FDSV B59, FIRE B5, FIRE B51H, FIRE B51M, FIRE B6, FIRE B63, FIRE B70A, FIRE B70F, FIRE B70G, FIRE B70H, FIRE B72A, FIRE B72D, FIRE B72F, FIRE B73, FIRE B79
- VI.A.iii Program Modifications-Health Information Technology AS, Health Navigator CA, LVN to RN AS, Psychology AAT, Sociology AAT

m/s: Ronnie Knabe/James McGarrah Voice vote for recommendation Angela Bono, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Charles Daramola, Christine Harker, David Neville, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth,Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Misty Stowers, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor. Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

FIRE B63 pulled for discussion. Friendly amendment to remove the hours and use the

percent's.

m/s: James McGarrah/Kim Nickell

Voice vote for recommendation: Angela Bono, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Charles Daramola, Christine Harker, David Neville, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth,Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Misty Stowers, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor. Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

VI.B. Second Agenda New Curriculum (Consent Agenda)

Refer to Exhibit VI

- VI.B.i New courses- FIRE B27C, FIRE B71F, FIRE B73J, KINS B1A, KINS B20A, KINS B21A, KINS B21BB, KINS B21DB, KINS B21FC, KINS B21SF, KINS B21SW, KINS B2A, KINS B3A
- VI.B.ii New programs- Business Administration 2.0, Logistics Management AS, Logistics Management CA m/s: James McGarrah/Ronnie Knabe

Voice vote for recommendation Angela Bono, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Charles Daramola, Christine Harker, David Neville, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth,Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Misty Stowers, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor. Opposed: None Abstained: None

Motion: Passed

KINS B21DB pulled for discussion- Confirmed the assessment map was present. Course author agreed to amend SLO #3 to align with comments.

m/s: James McGarrah/Ronnie Knabe

Voice vote for recommendation Angela Bono, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, David Neville, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth,Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Misty Stowers, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor. Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

VI.C. Second Agenda Distance Education (Consent Agenda)

(All consent items are to be approved in one motion unless a member requests separate action on a specific item and states the reason for separate action.)

Refer to Exhibit VI

VI.C.i Distance Education

FDSV B50, FDSV B51, FDSV B52, FDSV B55B, FDSV B55D, FDSV B55E, FDSV B59, FIRE B5, FIRE B27C, FIRE B51H, FIRE B51M, FIRE B6, FIRE B63, FIRE B70B, FIRE B70F, FIRE B70G, FIRE B70H, FIRE B71F, FIRE B72A, FIRE B72D, FIRE B73, FIRE B73J, FIRE B79, KINS B1A, KINS B20A, KINS B21A, KINS B21BB, KINS B21DB, KINS B21FC, KINS B21SF, KINS B21SW, KINS B2A, KINS B3A.

KINS B21SW removed fully online distance education request.

m/s: Pat Aderhold/James McGarrah

Voice vote for recommendation Angela Bono, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Charles Daramola, Christine Harker, David Neville, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Misty Stowers, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor. Opposed: None Abstained: None

Motion: Passed

VI.D Second Agenda Correspondence Education (Consent Agenda)

Refer to Exhibit VI

Correspondence Education – FDSV B50, FDSV B51, FDSV B52, FDSV B55B, FDSV B59, FIRE B6, KINS B1A

m/s: Pat Aderhold/Kim Nickell

Voice vote for recommendation Angela Bono, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Charles Daramola, Christine Harker, David Neville, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Misty Stowers, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor. Opposed: None Abstained: None

Motion: Passed

VI.E Second Agenda General Education (Consent Agenda)

Refer to Exhibit VI

General Education (Consent)

KINS B21SW, KINS B21BB, KINS B21DB, KINS B21FC, KINS B21SF, KINS B21SW m/s: Pat Aderhold/James McGarrah

Voice vote for recommendation Angela Bono, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Charles Daramola, Christine Harker, David Neville, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Misty Stowers, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor. Opposed: None

Abstained: None Motion: Passed

- Motion: Passed
- VI.F. Modification to Graduation Requirement Removal of Education Planning Requirement (Action Item)

Pat Aderhold asked on behalf of his department about impacts to INDT B10.

m/s: James McGarrah/Ronnie Knabe

Voice vote for recommendation Angela Bono, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Charles Daramola, Christine Harker, David Neville, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Misty Stowers, Nick Strobel, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor. Opposed: Pat Aderhold Abstained: None Motion: Passed

VII. CURRICULUM REVIEW

VII.A. Informational Curriculum Items *Refer to Exhibit VII.A*

VIII. REPORTS

VIII.A Curriculum Co-Chairs' Report

- Reminder about requesting to be on Academic Senate committees for next academic year. Mark welcomed Misty Stowers and thanked Billie Jo Rice for all of her support.
- Billie Jo mentioned she thinks is the hardest working committee on campus. Fall enrollment is low. She is asking for everyone to reach out to students. 68% of current students are not registered for Fall.

VIII.B Articulation Officer Report-None

VIII.C Assessment Co-Chair Report-None

IX. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS-

- X. GOOD AND WELFARE AND CONCERNS-Ronnie shared that the nursing students are working with the vaccine clinics.
- XI. ADJOURNMENT 3:25 p.m.