Regular Meeting of the Curriculum Committee of Bakersfield College April 22, 2021 2:30 p.m.-4:00 p.m.

I. CALL TO ORDER

Administrator-Billie Jo Rice Co-chair-Erica Menchaca Co-chair-Mark Osea

Angelica Vasquez, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Marisa Marquez, Edie Nelson.

Guests-Kren Campbell, Jacqueline Stoner, Sandy Davis, Michelle Pena, Victor Diaz, Maria Wright

II. ROLL CALL – Establishment of Quorum 2:33 p.m.

III. OPPORTUNITY TO ADDRESS THE COMMITTEE

(2 minutes per item)

- Victor Diaz, Department Chair of Counseling-HSCI B17 feels the educational planning may change. from high school to college. Would like to remove the education plan portion from the course and discuss it with the department.
- Sandy Davis, Nursing faculty and course co-author- mentioned HSCI B17 was designed after HSCI B90NC. She feels it needs to be there as part of the grant.
- Kren Campbell, Nursing faculty and course co-author HSCI B17 works with nursing students and sees the benefits of this class for this health career.

IV. ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA

(additions or changes can only occur when immediate action is required, which did not come to the attention of the Co-Chairs until after the agenda was posted; requires approval of 2/3 of all confirmed voting members; not applicable during special or emergency meetings)-None

V. REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

V.A. 4/8/2021

m/s: Sarah Villasenor/Nick Kim Nickell

Voice vote for recommendation: Angelica Vasquez, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

VI. ACTION ITEMS

VI.A. Second Agenda Revised Curriculum (Consent Agenda)

(All consent items are to be approved in one motion unless a member requests separate action on a specific item and states the reason for separate action.)

Refer to Exhibit VI

VI.A.i Course Deletions-None

VI.A.ii Revised Courses- ARTB16, ARTB17, ARTB40, ARTB41, ARTB42, ARTB44, HISTB25, HLEDB1, MUSCB21A, MUSCB21B, ORNHB1, PHEDB10

VI.A.iii Program Revisions-LVN to Non-Degree Nurse (30 Unit Option), History AA for Transfer

m/s: Keri Kennedy/Ronnie Knabe

Voice vote for recommendation: Angelica Vasquez, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

VI.B. Second Agenda New Curriculum (Consent Agenda)

Refer to Exhibit VI

VI.B.i New Courses- ANTH B7, HSCI B17, OSRM B4.

VI.B.ii New Programs - Applied Leadership Certificate of Completion, Inclusive and Accessible Digital Content Certificate of Completion

m/s: Nick Strobel/Pat Aderhold

Voice vote for recommendation: Angelica Vasquez, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

HSCI B17 pulled for discussion (Kennedy)

Course authors were present to answer questions about the course. Discussion occurred between committee members and non-members over the course's request to satisfy the education planning graduation requirement. It was noted that committee approves the content as presented on the COR. Approximate discussion time was 20 minutes.

Motion to approve HSCI B17 m/s: Keri Kennedy/Nick Strobel

Voice vote for recommendation: Angelica Vasquez, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Nick Strobel,

Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor.

Opposed: None

Abstained: Michael Fredenberg

Motion: Passed

VI.C. Second Agenda Distance Education (Consent Agenda)

(All consent items are to be approved in one motion unless a member requests separate action a specific item and states the reason for separate action.)

Refer to Exhibit VI

Distance Education -

VI.C.i Distance Education- ANTHB7, ARCH B10, ARTB16, ART B17, ART B40, ART B41, ART B42, ART B44, AUTO B11, AUTO B20, AUTO B23, AUTO B40, AUTO B48, EMTC B50, HIST B33, HIST B25, HLED B1, HSCI B17, INDT B72, MFGT B1AB, MFGT B2, MUSC B21A, MUSC B21B, ORNH B1, OSRM B4, PHED B7Y, PHEDB10, WELD B1A, WELD B55A, WELD B55C, WELD B65AB, WELD B74A, WELD B74B

m/s: Nick Strobel/Pat Aderhold

Voice vote for recommendation: Angelica Vasquez, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

VI.D. Second Agenda Correspondence Education (Consent Agenda) Refer to Exhibit VI

Correspondence Education – HLED B1

m/s: Keri Kennedy/James McGarrah

Voice vote for recommendation: Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor.

Opposed: None

Abstained: Angelica Vasquez

Motion: Passed

VI.E. Second Agenda General Education (Consent Agenda) Refer to Exhibit VI

General Education (Consent)

ANTHB7, HISTB25, HLEDB1, MUSCB21A, MUSCB21B, OSRM B4, PHEDB10

m/s: Pat Aderhold/Nick Strobel

Voice vote for recommendation: Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

VII.F. BC GE Workgroup Recommendations (Consent Agenda)

The group met 4/5/2021 and the recommended is posted.

m/s: Kim Nickell/Keri Kennedy

Voice vote for recommendation: Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, Holly Watt, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

VII. CURRICULUM REVIEW

I.A. Informational Curriculum Items Refer to Exhibit VII.A

Erica reviewed list.

I.B. First Agenda Curriculum-.

Refer to Exhibit VII.B - Reviews due Thursday, April 29th

VIII. REPORTS

- I.A. Curriculum Co-Chairs' Report -
 - $\ \square$ Program Mapper updates, Catalog 2021-2022-you may be asked to help create the new maps to include the new CSU GE Area F. The catalog will include what was sent to the
- BOT in May. VP Rice mentioned President Christian's appointment to be the new Chancellor. She also said more staff would be returning to campus.
 - I.B. Articulation Officer Report –Mark mentioned the 5C's changes to Title 5; CSU GE and IGETC Decisions are trickling in. Affected departments will be notified of approval status for their courses.
 - I.C. Assessment Co-Chair Report None

IX. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

-Kennedy, on behalf of the Counseling Department, said there was a proposal submitted for the removal of the Education Planning requirement for graduation.

- X. GOOD AND WELFARE AND CONCERNS -None
- XI. ADJOURNMENT 3:48 p.m... FINAL SCHEDULED MEETING: April 29, 2021