Bakersfield College Curriculum Committee Minutes

Regular Meeting on September 24, 2020-Zoom

I. <u>Call to Order:</u> by Mark Edward Osea at 2:35 pm. Quorum met.

Chairs in Attendance: Erica Menchaca, Mark Edward Osea.

Chairs Absent: Billie Jo Rice

Members in Attendance: Angelica Vasquez, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, David Neville, Emma McNellis (arrived at 3:04 p.m.), Isaac Sanchez, Jacy Hill (arrived at 2:40 pm), James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael McNellis, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Stephen Tavoni, Marisa Marguez, Brent Wilson, Edie Nelson.

Members Absent: Charles Daramola, Kim Nickell, Misty Stowers, Richard McCrow.

Guests in Attendance: None

- II Opportunities to Address the Committee-2 minutes per item None
- III. Additions to the Agenda- (immediate action required, which did not come to the attention of the E-Board until after the agenda was posted; requires 2/3 vote of members present)

 None

IV. Review and Approval of the Minutes -

IV.A 7/9/2020- with the addition of Brent Wilson to Members Absent.

m/s: Stephen Tavoni/James McGarrah

Voice vote for recommendation: Angelica Vasquez, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, David Neville, Isaac Sanchez, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael McNellis, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Stephen Tavoni.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

IV.B 9/10/2020-

m/s: Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold

Voice vote for recommendation: Angelica Vasquez, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, David Neville, Isaac Sanchez, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael McNellis, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Stephen Tavoni.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

IV.C 9/14/2020-

m/s: Nick Strobel/Michael McNellis

Voice vote for recommendation: Angelica Vasquez, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, David Neville, Isaac Sanchez, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael McNellis, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Stephen Tavoni.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

V. Reports-

V.A Curriculum Co-Chairs' Report-

- Workflow Bug for some courses the DE section wasn't available-emails and forms to complete were sent to the few that couldn't access.
- New Academic Year workflow-deleting items that have not been touched/reviewed since 2019/20 academic year on October 1st at 4 pm.
- Program Workflow update in eLumen has been completed.

V.B Articulation Officer Report-

- C-ID 5-year reviews-the review is taking place and emails were sent out with a survey. Please read and respond.
- 5C Updates: Ethnic Studies Proposal-5C is looking at Title 5 and reviewing ethnic studies language.
- V.C Assessment Co-Chair Report- committee has been hard at work reviewing over 50 courses that you will see soon in your curriculum inbox.

VI. Curriculum Review

VI.A. Informational Items

Refer to Exhibit VI. Curriculum Review List

COMM B15 EDUC B7A

EDUC B7B

FORE B5

FORE B6

VI.B. First Agenda

Refer to Exhibit VI. Curriculum Review List

VI.C. Second Agenda

Refer to Exhibit VI. Curriculum Review List Voted on as Action Items

VII. Action Items

VII.A. Curriculum (Second Agenda Voting Items)

Refer to Exhibit VI. Curriculum Review List

VII.A.i. New Courses

EDUC B32

EDUC B32NC

m/s: Jacy Hill/Sarah Villasenor

Voice vote for recommendation: Angelica Vasquez, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, David Neville, Isaac Sanchez, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael McNellis, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Stephen Tavoni.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

VII.A.ii. Distance Education - courses that are requesting Distance Education as a method of delivery, the committee has considered the rigors of DE requirement and feels those courses meet the rigor.

AUTO B36

CNST B1

CNST B5

HVAC B60

INDR B20A

INDR B20B

NUTR B10

PHYS B2B

PHYS B4A

VNRS B69L

VNRS B88L

WELD B53A

WELD B54A

WELD BOAR

WELD B54B WOOD B1

WOOD B5

m/s: Nick Strobel/Pat Aderhold

Voice vote for recommendation: Angelica Vasquez, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, David Neville, Emma McNellis, Isaac Sanchez, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael McNellis, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Stephen Tavoni.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed VII.A.iii. Correspondence Education - courses that are requesting Correspondence Education as a method of delivery, the committee has considered the rigors of CE requirement and feels those courses meet the rigor.

NUTR B10

m/s: Nick Strobel/Pat Aderhold

Voice vote for recommendation: Angelica Vasquez, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, David Neville, Emma McNellis, Isaac Sanchez, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael McNellis, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Stephen Tavoni.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

VII.B. Committee Charge/Goals (Voting Items) - There may be a word or two changed after it is presented to Academic Senate at which point it will come back to committee as an information item.

Refer to Exhibit VII Proposed Committee Charge and Goals

m/s: Nick Strobel/Pat Aderhold

Voice vote for recommendation: Angelica Vasquez, Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Christine Harker, Creighton Magers, David Neville, Emma McNellis, Isaac Sanchez, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael McNellis, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Stephen Tavoni.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

VIII. Discussion Items

VIII.A Committee Handbook (First read)
Refer to Exhibit VIII. Committee Handbook

If you have suggestions/questions, please email the Co-Chairs directly. Last years is posted for comparison. A request was made to include the language about the DE and GE subteams developed last year.

VIII. Good, Welfare and Concerns- None

IX. Adjournment-Next regular meeting: October 8, 2020. Adjourned at 3:25.

DE Subteam Meeting – Sept 28th at 1pm via Zoom: 98909980374 GE Subteam Meeting – Sept 29th at 2pm via Zoom: 6613954752