Bakersfield College Curriculum Committee Minutes

Special Meeting on September 14, 2020 – Zoom

I. <u>Call to Order:</u> by Mark Edward Osea at 12:04 pm. Quorum met.

Chairs in Attendance: Erica Menchaca, Mark Edward Osea.

<u>Members in attendance:</u> Angelica Vasquez (joined 12:21 p.m.), Bernadette Towns (joined 12:14 pm), Carl Dean, Creighton Magers, David Neville, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel (joined 12:08 p.m.), Pat Aderhold, Richard McCrow (joined 12:16 p.m.).

<u>Members Absent:</u> Brent Wilson, Charles Daramola, Christine Harker, Isaac Sanchez, John Hart, Marisa Marquez, Misty Stowers, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Stephen Tavoni, Michael McNellis, Billie Jo Rice

Guest: Christian Zoller

II. Opportunities to Address the Committee-2 minutes per item –

The course author of ADMJ B61NC, B62NC, B63NC spoke to the committee about the courses and their purpose.

III. Additions to the Agenda- (Not applicable during special or emergency meetings).

IV. Curriculum Review:

Refer to Exhibit IV.

IV.A.i. First/Second Agenda

CORs for ADMJ B61NC, B62NC, and B63NC were posted beforehand and provided to the committee.

Discussion took place.

IV.B.i. New Courses:

EDUC B30NC

EDUC B31NC

m/s: Nick Strobel/Jacy Hill

Voice vote for recommendation: Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Creighton Magers, David Neville, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Pass ADMJ B61NC ADMJ B62NC ADMJ B63NC

m/s: Pat Aderhold/Kim Nickell

Voice vote for recommendation: Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Creighton Magers, David Neville, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Pass

IV.B.ii Courses that are requesting **DE** (Distance Education) as a method of delivery, the committee has considered the rigors of DE requirement and feels these courses meet the rigor:

ADMJ B61NC

ADMJ B62NC

ADMJ B63NC

EDUC B30NC

EDUC B31NC

m/s: Pat Aderhold/Nick Strobel

Voice vote for recommendation: Bernadette Towns, Carl Dean, Creighton Magers, David Neville, Jacy Hill, James McGarrah, Keri Kennedy, Kim Nickell, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel, Pat Aderhold.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Pass

- V. <u>Good and Welfare and Concerns:</u> Mark thanked the committee for attending the special and taking time out of their busy Monday.
- VI. Adiournment: by Mark Edward Osea at 12:21 p.m.

Next Regularly Scheduled Meeting - September 24, 2020