Bakersfield College Curriculum Committee Minutes

Virtual meeting on March 19, 2020

- I. <u>Call to Order:</u> by Jennifer Johnson at 2:38 pm. Quorum not met.
- II. Chairs in Attendance: Jennifer Johnson, Erica Menchaca
- III. <u>Members in Attendance:</u> Matt Riley, Jacy Hill, Kristopher Stallworth, Stephen Tavoni, Lynn Krausse, Pat Aderhold, Christine Harker, Laura Luiz, Mike Fredenberg, Ronnie Knabe, Mike Daniel, Sarah Villasenor, Nick Strobel, Mark Osea, Jennifer Anchen, Richard McCrow, Edie Nelson
- IV. <u>Members Absence:</u> Billie Jo Rice, Charles Daramola, Michael Korcok, Jennifer Rachal, Shane Jett, John Hart, Bernadette Towns, David Neville, Carl Dean, Kris Tiner, Michael McNellis, Misty Stowers, Perla Villegas, Edith Mata, Keri Kennedy, David Greenfield, Michelle Pena, Anthony Cordova.
- V. Guests in Attendance: None
- VI. Review and Approval of the Minutes -

3/5/2020

m/s: Lynne Krausse/Nick Strobel

Electronic vote for recommendation: Bernadette Towns, Christine Harker, Jacelyn Hill, Jennifer Rachal, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Lynn Krausse, Mark Osea, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Nick Strobel, Patrick Aderhold, Perla Villegas, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Shane Jett, Mike Daniel.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

VII. Reports-

- Curriculum Co-Chairs' Report- Discussed biggest accomplishments this week while moving courses online. Bio filmed their labs. Use of closed captioning in YouTube. Online assessments. For curriculum we will try to continue business. EVote to be sent out. If you need to submit a comment, there will be a place. Only one more meeting to get curriculum to the BOT. A faculty member asked about a blanket DE approval. There is already a memo regarding a blanket amendment. Our local process is in October we sign a document that we reviewed and approved certain courses to be DE. We will have a more detailed discussion in the fall. A hybrid with less than 50% is a minimum of three face to face contacts (usually orientation/mid-term/final). See if FCDC is doing any virtual meetings and mention DE. Look for an email with voting directions.
- COVID-19 Updates (Virtual Format & Suspension of Brown Act) The
 official letter regarding the Brown Act is on the COVID-19 webpage. Not
 sure how long the closure will last, may be the end of the semester so
 please be prepared.

- Articulation Officer Report- Regarding GE, Mark said there will be an appeal in June
 just for technical reasons. Nothing substantial. UC Office of the President will honor
 courses if the outcomes are still met.
- Assessment Co-Chair Report- None
- VIII. Opportunities to Address the Committee-2 minutes per item –
- **IX.** Additions to the Agenda- (immediate action required, which did not come to the attention of the E-Board until after the agenda was posted; requires 2/3 vote of members present)
- X. <u>First Agenda</u> (non-voting item)

List posted to committee webpage

XI. <u>Second Agenda</u> –(Voting item)-E-Vote

List posted to committee webpage
Including OSRM B26 BC GE Recommendation

New courses-

ECUC B7A PSPA B70 PSPA B74 PSPA B75A

m/s: Lynne Krausse/Nick Strobel

E-Vote for recommendation: Bernadette Towns, Christine Harker, Jacelyn Hill, Jennifer Rachal, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Lynn Krausse, Mark Osea, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael Korcok, Nick Strobel, Patrick Aderhold, Perla Villegas, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Shane Jett, Mike Daniel.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

Course revisions-

ENGL B24

OSRM B26

m/s: Lynne Krausse/Nick Strobel

E-Vote for recommendation: Bernadette Towns, Jacelyn Hill, Jennifer Rachal, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Lynn Krausse, Mark Osea, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael Korcok, Nick Strobel, Patrick Aderhold, Perla Villegas, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Shane Jett, Mike Daniel.

Opposed: None

Abstained: Christine Harker

Motion: Passed

 Course revisions that are requesting DE (Distance Education) as a method of delivery, the committee has considered the rigors of DE requirement and feels those courses meet the rigor.

ENGL B24 OSRM B26

m/s: Lynne Krausse/Nick Strobel

E-Vote for recommendation: Bernadette Towns, Jacelyn Hill, Jennifer Rachal, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Lynn Krausse, Mark Osea, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael Korcok, Nick Strobel, Patrick Aderhold, Perla Villegas, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Shane Jett, Mike Daniel.

Opposed: None

Abstained: Christine Harker

Motion: Passed

 New course requesting DE (Distance Education) as a method of delivery, the committee has considered the rigors of DE requirement and feels those courses meet the rigor.
 EDUC B7A

m/s: Lynne Krausse/Nick Strobel

E-Vote for recommendation: Bernadette Towns, Christine Harker, Jacelyn Hill, Jennifer Rachal, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Lynn Krausse, Mark Osea, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael Korcok, Nick Strobel, Patrick Aderhold, Perla Villegas, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Shane Jett, Mike Daniel.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

 Course revisions requesting GE – ENGL B24
 OSRM B26

m/s: Lynne Krausse/Nick Strobel

E-Vote for recommendation: Bernadette Towns, Christine Harker, Jacelyn Hill, Jennifer Rachal, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Lynn Krausse, Mark Osea, Matt Riley, Michael Korcok, Nick Strobel, Patrick Aderhold, Perla Villegas, Sarah Villasenor, Shane Jett, Mike Daniel.

Opposed: None

Abstained: Michael Fredenberg, Ronnie Knabe

Motion: Passed

Revised programs–

Occupational Safety and Risk Management, Agriculture AS
Occupational Safety and Risk Management, Health Science AS
Occupational Safety and Risk Management, Industrial Technology AS

m/s: Lynne Krausse/Nick Strobel

E-Vote for recommendation: Bernadette Towns, Christine Harker, Jacelyn Hill, Jennifer Rachal, John Hart, Keri Kennedy, Kris Tiner, Kristopher Stallworth, Laura Luiz, Lynn Krausse, Mark Osea, Matt Riley, Michael Fredenberg, Michael Korcok, Nick Strobel, Patrick Aderhold, Perla Villegas, Ronnie Knabe, Sarah Villasenor, Shane Jett, Mike Daniel.

Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

- XII. <u>Unfinished Business-</u> None
- XIII. <u>New Business</u>-None
- XIV. Good, Welfare and Concerns-
- **XV.** Adjournment- Jennifer Johnson adjourned the meeting at 2:57. Next meeting April 2, 2020.