Bakersfield College Curriculum Committee Minutes

Meeting on September 19, 2019

- <u>Call to order:</u> by Jennifer Johnson at 2:33 pm. Quorum met.
 - Committee Picture taken.
- Chairs in Attendance: Billie Jo Rice, Jennifer Johnson, Erica Menchaca
- <u>Members in Attendance</u>: Matt Riley, Jacy Hill, Kristopher Stallworth, Charles Daramola, Stephen Tavoni, Lynn Krausse, Michael Korcok, Pat Aderhold, Shane Jett, John Hart, Bernadette Towns, David Neville, Konrad Dahl (Fall), Laura Luiz, Mike Fredenberg, Ronnie Knabe, Kris Tiner, Michael McNellis, Mike Daniel, Sarah Villasenor, Keri Kennedy, Nick Strobel, Angelica Vasquez, Mark Osea, Brent Wilson, David Greenfield, Rich McCrow, Edie Nelson, Linda Allday.
- Guests in Attendance: None

<u>Review and Approval of the Minutes</u>

m/s: Michael Korcok and Mike Daniel Voice vote for approval: Matt Riley, Jacy Hill, Kristopher Stallworth, Charles Daramola, Stephen Tavoni, Lynn Krausse, Michael Korcok, Pat Aderhold, Shane Jett, John Hart, Bernadette Towns, David Neville, Konrad Dahl (Fall), Laura Luiz, Mike Fredenberg, Ronnie Knabe, Kris Tiner, Michael McNellis, Mike Daniel, Sarah Villasenor, Keri Kennedy, Nick Strobel, Angelica Vasquez, Mark Osea. Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

- Curriculum Co-Chair-Jennifer mentioned the folder/information that was handed out last week, • if you didn't receive the packet there are a few extras. Those who have the folder, when you move on, please hand off the folder to next in line. The how-to documents are posted in Canvas. Agendas and minutes are on the webpage and Canvas. She talked about our charge and goals. The document then goes to the Executive Board, Academic Senate, and then College Council. When approved it is dated and posted. This year is the year of the program. There is a list of programs to be reviewed. Jennifer is working with chairs to get them processed. Please check the ecatalog for your areas and let us know if you see anything that needs help. Title 5 report to FCDC was a conversation about programs, Gen Ed categories, and what should be approved. Jennifer sits on the 5C State committee, which includes looking at curriculum, PCAH, changes to the law, and recommends Title 5 changes. One change was to English composition and analytical thinking (document was uploaded to Canvas). Revised to read the following: Title 5 CCR § 55063.b.D.ii says "...Courses fulfilling the communication and analytical thinking requirement including, but not limited to oral communication, mathematics, and quantitative reasoning such as logic, statistics, computer languages and programming, and related disciplines." Please review document before next meeting. Talked about "Finish in Four".
- Articulation Officer-Mark-

- UC TCA decisions are being released. Affected departments will be notified of the UC decision.
- If departments would like to appeal a UC TCA decision, appeals will only be accepted from October 1st through October 10th.
- o Presented information on what constitutes CSU Transferability and UC Transferability.
- Assessment Co-Chair-Brent- at the last Assessment Committee meeting they reviewed their charge and goals which were sent to eBoard. The committee is trying to norm language in assessment and program review. PLO and SLO assessments were assigned.
- Opportunities to Address the Committee 2 minutes per item-none
- Additions to the Agenda- None

Unfinished Business-

- Content Review (2nd read and vote)-updated form and it is now fillable.
 - m/s: Matt Riley and Michael McNellis Voice vote for approval: Matt Riley, Jacy Hill, Kristopher Stallworth, Charles Daramola, Stephen Tavoni, Lynn Krausse, Michael Korcok, Pat Aderhold, Shane Jett, John Hart, Bernadette Towns, David Neville, Konrad Dahl (Fall), Laura Luiz, Mike Fredenberg, Ronnie Knabe, Kris Tiner, Michael McNellis, Mike Daniel, Sarah Villasenor, Keri Kennedy, Nick Strobel, Angelica Vasquez, Mark Osea. Opposed: None Abstained: None

Motion: Passed

 SLO Mapping Form (2nd read and vote)-discussion on multiple programs, Brent said he would attach an example.

> m/s: Lynn Krausse and Pat Aderhold Voice vote for approval: Matt Riley, Jacy Hill, Kristopher Stallworth, Charles Daramola, Stephen Tavoni, Lynn Krausse, Michael Korcok, Pat Aderhold, Shane Jett, John Hart, Bernadette Towns, David Neville, Konrad Dahl (Fall), Laura Luiz, Mike Fredenberg, Ronnie Knabe, Kris Tiner, Michael McNellis, Mike Daniel, Sarah Villasenor, Keri Kennedy, Nick Strobel, Angelica Vasquez, Mark Osea. Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

• Committee Charge and Goals (2nd read and vote)-

Charge:

m/s: Michael Korcok and Pat Aderhold

Voice vote for approval: Matt Riley, Jacy Hill, Kristopher Stallworth, Charles Daramola, Stephen Tavoni, Lynn Krausse, Michael Korcok, Pat Aderhold, Shane Jett, John Hart, Bernadette Towns, David Neville, Konrad Dahl (Fall), Laura Luiz, Mike Fredenberg, Ronnie Knabe, Kris Tiner, Michael McNellis, Mike Daniel, Sarah Villasenor, Keri Kennedy, Nick Strobel, Angelica Vasquez, Mark Osea. Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

Goals:

m/s: Mike Daniel and Pat Aderhold Voice vote for approval: Matt Riley, Jacy Hill, Kristopher Stallworth, Charles Daramola, Stephen Tavoni, Lynn Krausse, Michael Korcok, Pat Aderhold, Shane Jett, John Hart, Bernadette Towns, David Neville, Konrad Dahl (Fall), Laura Luiz, Mike Fredenberg, Ronnie Knabe, Kris Tiner, Michael McNellis, Mike Daniel, Sarah Villasenor, Keri Kennedy, Nick Strobel, Angelica Vasquez, Mark Osea. Opposed: None Abstained: None Motion: Passed

 Committee Handbook (2nd read and vote)-There was a brief review- Michael McNellis had a handout/revision with suggestions. Would like representatives from each area. Jennifer will move the discussion to next meeting-New Business. There was a short discussion about bias. Jennifer asks that you review the document and compare to handbook and committee charge. Vote tabled until Academic Senate can be consulted.

New Business-

- o DE Team-Erica Menchaca, Jennifer Rachal, and Misty Stowers.
- o GE Team-Mark Osea, Ballot vote-Nick Strobel, Keri Kennedy, and Michael McNellis.
- o Programs Team-Jennifer Johnson, Sara Villasenor, Patrick Aderhold, and Kris Stallworth.
- First Agenda See attached list-

Erica went over the Teams and the check list for comments in eLumen.

- Second Agenda See attached list
- Good, Welfare and Concerns-none
- <u>Adjournment</u>-Jennifer Johnson adjourned the meeting at 3:55 p.m. Next Meeting is October 3, 2019