NAME OF COMMITTEE	CURRICULUM COMMITTEE
COMMITTEE CHARGE	 The Curriculum Committee is a standing governance committee that functions as a vital subcommittee of the Academic Senate. The primary purpose of this committee is to ensure that curriculum is consistent with the mission of the college, addresses the needs of students and the community, and meets the requirements of law and regulation. Curriculum includes programs of study (degrees and certificates) and individual courses. As such, it must support strong transfer and vocational programs and include a strong general education program as the foundation upon which students will build. Oversees origination, modification, deletion, and review of all curriculum, including all elements of both programs of study (degrees and advisories in an ongoing systematic review process. Independently evaluates requests for prerequisites and advisories in accordance with Title 5 regulation. Evaluates requests for General Education and articulation. Develops and implements procedures to assure an effective means of facilitating the curriculum review process while adhering to the requirements of law and regulation.
SCOPE OF AUTHORITY	Faculty has primary responsibility for the origination, modification, deletion, and review of all curriculum in accordance with the mission of the college. In accordance with the requirements of the Brown Act, all Curriculum Committee agendas will be publicly posted 72 hours prior to regularly scheduled meetings. There must be quorum before a vote to recommend approval of curriculum. Recommendations for approved curriculum will be forwarded to the Kern Community College District Board of Trustees. Curriculum approved by the Board of Trustees will be forwarded to the California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office.
REPORTS TO	The Curriculum Committee reports to the Academic Senate Executive Board and the Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs.
COMMUNICATES WITH	The Curriculum Committee communicates regularly with faculty through Curriculum Committee representatives, Academic Senate, College Council, and the Faculty Chairs and Deans Council.
MEMBERSHIP	 The committee is co-chaired by the Executive Vice President of Instruction (or designee) and 2 Faculty Representatives (2yr-term). Quorum is determined as half of the voting membership plus one. All members have voting privileges unless otherwise indicated. Two administrative representatives, non-voting members Articulation Officer 27 Academic Senate representatives (24 department reps and 3 members-at-large) Unrepresented department positions will fall to the department chair Assessment co-chair(s)(liaison, non voting member (s)) One Student Government Association Representative