Accreditation Steering Committee Unapproved Minutes October 26, 2010 3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Collins Conference Center

Attendees: Sue Granger-Dickson, Joyce Ester, Nan Gomez-Heitzeberg (co-chair) Ann Morgan, Kate Pluta (co-chair), Klint Rigby, Kirk Russell, Bernadette Towns, Rene Trujillo, Rachel Vickrey, Miranda Whipple,

Absentee: Hamid Eydgahi, LaMont Schiers, and Bonnie Suderman

Guest: Diana Kelly

1. Review of minutes

The minutes of September 14, September 21, and October 5 are reviewed and approved with minor corrections.

2. Training

Two training sessions are planned:

- November 19 at the next FCDC meeting at 10:30 a.m. in the Collins Conference Center.
- November 23 during the regularly scheduled ASC meeting at 3:30 p.m. in the Collins Conference Center. The Curriculum, Assessment, and Institutional Effectiveness Committee (IEC) will be invited to this session.

All committees will receive an invitation with the choice of attending one of the scheduled training sessions.

Action: The Executive Vice President's office is to send out an invitation for accreditation training.

Update: Completed

The committee discussed candidates that would be beneficial to the ASC committee to fill the basic skills opening.

Action: Kate Pluta will speak with Joyce Kirst, Susan McQuerrey, Regina Hukill, and Patrice Plummer regarding committee participation.

Update: Completed

3. SEC Charge

The discussion proposed changes to SEC Charge (Draft 1) that includes reassigned time for both faculty co-chair and editor. Also, changes to the timeline (Draft 3) were indicated to match items listed on the Charge. The proposal is to change Spring 2011 SEC Charge faculty co-chair from .200 reassigned time to .400. and transferring faculty

editor (.2 reassigned time for one semester or \$4,000 stipend) information to SEC Charge (Draft 1).

The Self Evaluation Committee consists of administrators and faculty. The committee decided to include SGA and classified members on the SEC Charge draft.

Action: Kate Pluta is to revise the SEC Charge (Draft 1) to reflect changes discussed by the committee.

Update: Completed

Action: The committee is to develop a job description for the Chair for the SEC Charge.

Update: Completed

Action: Kate Pluta, Sue Granger-Dickson, and Rachel Vickrey will draft a job description for the co-chair of SEC Charge.

Update: Completed

3. ASC Timeline and ACCJC participation

Action: Kate Pluta is to make changes on Draft timeline 3

Update: Completed

Action: The committee is encouraged to participate on a site visit. Many from different disciplines are needed. Kate Pluta announced that committee members are to email her regarding participation.

Update: Will be added to a future meeting agenda.

The committee members that indicated an interest are Ann Morgan, Rene Trujillo, Joyce Ester, Diana Kelly, Nan Gomez-Heitzeberg, Kirk Russell, and Klint Rigby.