Accreditation Steering Committee (ASC) Approved Minutes October 5, 2010 3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Collins Conference Center

Attendees: Nan Gomez-Heitzeberg, Kate Pluta, Joyce C. Ester, Hamid Eydgahi, Sue Granger-Dickson, Klint Rigby, Kirk Russell, Bonnie Suderman, Rene Trujillo, Rachel Vickrey, and Miranda Whipple

Absentees: Ann Morgan, LaMont Schiers, Bernadette Towns, and Kimberly Van Horne

Guest: Diana Kelly

Review of Minutes of September 21, 2010 meeting: Action: Vickie Turney to make correction to Miranda Whipple's name. Update: Miranda's name has been corrected.

1. Self Evaluation Committee Discussion - The committee discussed the need for a faculty co-chair (.400 reassigned time) and faculty editor (.200 reassigned time) to be assigned on an ongoing basis. The positions would be for the spring 2011 through spring 2013. Thereafter, the positions would be reevaluated.

The Self Evaluation Committee list includes: 11 subsets of faculty and administrative members, with 2 co-chairs each. Each subset would submit semester reports of their progress. The committee reviewed the glossary committee list and suggested changes to the subcommittees.

Action: Kate Pluta to revise list and send to the committee. Update: Sent Tuesday, October 5, following meeting.

IIA - Curriculum, Enrollment, Assessment
IA- Mission, College Council
IB - IEC, Assessment
All of II (A, B, C) - add FCDC
IIB - Student Support Services, Matriculation Committee, Financial Aid
IIC - add Library Staff, LRIT Directors Meeting,
IIIA - add Equivalency Committee
IIID - Physical Resources include - Facilities Planning Sub-Committee, and
Safety
IIIC - Technology include - ISIT
IIID - Financial Resources include - Budget Committee, and Budget Allocation
Model (BAM)
IVA and IVB include - Academic Senate
IVA - Leadership include - College Council, Admin Council, and Presidents
Cabinet and SGA

Add SGA to IIA, IIB, IIC

The committee reviewed changes to the committee charge as follows:

Action: Kate Pluta to revise list and send to committee. Update: The committee has received revision.

1. Participate - Training

2. Research - review and respond to previous recommendation/planning agendas, identify evidence, use sub-committees to coordinate campuswide constituents with their own focus groups.

- 3. Identify documents-evidence- make recommendations
- 4. Document Findings
- 5. Use template to write evaluation
- 6. Semester reports

The ASC also recommended that .200 reassigned time be allocated to the faculty co-chair of the ASC.

College Goals - College Council goals under number 7 Linkages ASC committee recommendation for change:

Inform campus community about the decision making process as outlined in the DMD. Continue the dialog and use college wide feedback to improve the process.

2. ASC Membership

Action: Vickie to revise list_serve

Update: LaMont Schiers and Dianna Kelly have been added to the list. Sue Granger-Dickson email address has been corrected in the list_serve.

LaMont Schiers will be added to the committee list. A motion was passed to add co-chair of IEC/Program Review, Diana Kelly to ASC committee. Kimberly Van Horne, current committee member, has resigned. Joyce Ester will be added to the committee list.

Action: Kate Pluta to inform Academic Senate that another Basic Skills representative will be needed for the ASC committee.

Update: Completed