

Academic Senate

#### **ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES- Draft for approval**

February 28, 2024; 3:30 p.m. Campus Center, Renegade Event Center

**MEMBERS** 

Academic Senate

Veting Menals and

Voting Members					
President	Erica Menchaca*	Present	Library/Ac. Tech.	Faith Bradham	Present
Vice President	Matt Andrasian-Jones	Absent	Math-1 <sup>st</sup>	Donna Starr	Absent
Secretary	Paula Parks	Present	Math-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Andrea Bridges	Present
Treasurer	Teresa McAllister	Present	Nursing-1 <sup>st</sup>	Alisha Loken	Present
ASCCC Delegate	Lisa Harding	Absent	Nursing-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Malissa Buggs	Present
Adjunct Rep – 1 <sup>st</sup>	Debra Thorson	Present	Performing Arts	Robby Martinez	Present
Adjunct Rep – 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Justin Bell	Absent	Philosophy	Anna Collins	Present
Agriculture	Heather Baltis	Present	Physical Science-1 <sup>st</sup>	Wade Ellis (G. Ayuk)	Absent
AH (HEIT/Rad Tech)	Crystal Rodriguez	Present	Physical Science-2 <sup>nd</sup>	James McGarrah	Present
AST	VACANT		PSTP	Don Brady	Present
Art	Kristopher Stallworth	Present	Social Science-1 <sup>st</sup>	R. Allen Bolar	Present
Behavioral Science/CJ-1 <sup>st</sup>	Charles Daramola	Present	Social Science-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Misty Stowers	Absent
Behavioral Science/CJ-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Kristin Maytubby	Present	Non-Voting Members		
Biology-1 <sup>st</sup>	VACANT		Past President	Nick Strobel	Present
Biology-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Ann-Marie Hodge	Present	AIQ Chair	Grace Commiso	Present
Business Education	Rudy Menjivar	Present	Assessment Chair	Rebecka Zepeda	Absent
Communication-1 <sup>st</sup>	Michael Korcok	Present	Bookstore Chair	Michael McNellis	Absent
Communication – 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Matthew Maddex	Present	Budget Chair	Steven Holmes	Absent
Counseling-1 <sup>st</sup>	Cynthia Zamora	Absent	Curriculum Chair	Michelle Hart	Present
Counseling – 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Sarah Villasenor	Present	Curriculum Chair	Scott Dameron	Present
Education	Bill Chapman	Present	EMC Chair	Krista Moreland	Absent
EMLS	Michael Westwood	Present	EODAC Chair	Gilbert Ayuk	Present
Engineering	Steve Brown	Absent	Equivalency Chair	Kimberly Bligh	Present
English-1 <sup>st</sup>	Savanna Andrasian-Jones	Absent	Facilities Chair	Pam Kelley	Absent
English-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Shane Jett	Present	ISIT Chair	Bill Moseley	Absent
English-3 <sup>rd</sup>	Gloria Naso-Dumler	Absent	PDC Chair	VACANT	
FACE	Melissa Ysais	Present	PRC Chair	Kimberly Nickell	Present
Foreign Language/ASL	Lourdes Aboytes	Present	Scholarship Chair	Laurel Mourtzanos	Absent
Industrial Technology	Klint Rigby	Present	Safety Chair	Roy Allard	Absent
Kinesiology, H&A-1 <sup>st</sup>	Carl Dean	Present	BSGA Rep	Raya Arafah	Present
Kinesiology, H&A-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Zack Peters (V. Martinez)	Absent			

*Votes only in tie\** 

#### **PROXIES/GUESTS**

Proxies: Vayron Martinez (proxy for Zack Peters), Teresa McAllister (proxy for Matt Andrasian-Jones), Gilbert Ayuk (proxy for Wade Ellis); Shane Jett (proxy for Savanna Andrasian-Jones); Dillion Giblin (proxy for Donna Starr); Paula Parks (proxy for Gloria Naso-Dumler); Alisha Loken (proxy for Lisa Harding)/Guests: Ann Tatum

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order at 3:34p.m. All documents referenced herein are located on the <u>Academic Senate Website</u>.

#### **ROLL CALL**

Roll call was taken; quorum was met.

Academic Senate

GOOD, WELFARE, AND CONCERNS None

#### **OPPORTUNITY TO ADDRESS THE SENATE**

At this time, the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Academic Senate that is on the agenda or not on the agenda. Each speaker will be allowed a maximum of three (3) minutes. Fifteen (15) minutes shall be the maximum time allotment for public speakers regardless of the number of speakers at anyone(1) Senate meeting. At the discretion of a majority of the Senate, these times maybe extended. Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President or designee. Comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members. Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public. Written statements are posted to the Senate website.

<u>Agenda Item Public Statements</u> <u>Non-Agenda Item Public Statements</u>

Christine Cruz-Boone announced the BC Accessibility Survey – deadline is Saturday, March 2, 2024

#### **ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA**

<u>February 28, 2024</u> *M/S/C: (Maddex/McGarrah) moved to adopt the agenda; motion carried.* 

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

M/S/C: (Maddex/McGarrah) moved to approve Consent items; motion carried.

- A. Approval of the Minutes <u>February 14, 2024</u>
- B. Faculty Appointments
  Standing Committee Appointments none
  Screening Committee Appointments none
  Task Forces, Liaisons, other groups list of 2/28/2024
- C. Committee Charges <u>Professional Development Committee Charge</u>

### PRESENTATIONS

None

**REPORTS** President's Report (Menchaca)- <u>written report</u>

Academic Senate

Officer Reports

- Vice President (Andrasian-Jones)
- Treasurer (McAllister)
- Secretary (Parks)
- ASCCC Delegate (Harding)
- SGA Report (Arafah)
- CCA Report (Tatum)

**Committee Reports** 

- AIQ (Commiso) <u>written report</u>
- Assessment (Zepeda)
- Bookstore (McNellis) book orders are now due
- Budget (Holmes)
- Curriculum (Hart/Dameron) <u>written report</u>
- DEI (Silva)
- EMC (Moreland) <u>written report</u>
- EODAC (Ayuk)
- Equivalency (Bligh)
- ISIT (Moseley)
- Facilities (Kelley)
- Professional Development (Vacant)
- Program Review (Nickell) written report
- Safety Advisory (Allard)
- Scholarship (Mourtzanos)

#### TASK FORCE/AD HOC/LIAISON COMMITTEE REPORTS

- Guided Pathway Strategies Task Force written report
- Credit for Prior Learning <u>written report</u>

#### **UNFINISHED BUSINESS**

#### **Review Procedures for Standing Committees**

Description: <u>Proposal Submission of Biographical Information for Committee Membership</u> drafted by Bradham & Maddex; this is an Action item.

# *M/S/C:* (*Ysais/Bolar*) moved to extend time for discussion 10 minutes; motion carried with 1 opposed.

The members of Senate held a lengthy discussion over this item.

#### M/S/C: (McAllister/Korok) moved to amend proposal; motion carried.

# *M/S/C: (Maddex/Thorson) moved to approve the proposal; motion failed with 3 abstentions.*

Academic Senate

Review Procedures for Screening Committees

Description: Screening Committee Appointment Process Proposed Changes drafted by Bradham & Maddex; this is an Action item.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

Local General Education Pattern Proposed Changes Summer 2024 Description: Proposed revisions to the local general education patterns (Curriculum presentation).

<u>AP/BP Legal Recommendation for Chapter 3</u> Description: Set of language recommendations for AP and BP changes to meet legal

requirements for Chapters 3.

Creation of Program Director/Head Coach Positions

Description: Review of the creation of a Program Director in place of Head Coaching positions. The members of Senate held a lengthy discussion over this item.

*M/S/C:* (*Rigby/Buggs*) moved to approve the agenda item up to Unfinished Business; motion carried with 1 opposed.

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS

- Levan Center Renegade Roundtable @ 6pm.
- ASCCC Dual Enrollment Regional Central California on March 1 at 9:30 am at College of the Sequoias
- ASCCC Spring Curriculum Regional Central California on March 1 at 10 am at College of the Sequoias
- ASCCC Spring Plenary on April 17-20 in Pasadena, CA
- ASCCC Noncredit Institute on May 2-3 in Anaheim, CA

#### ADJOURNEMNT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:49 p.m.; the minutes were recorded by Tarina Perry. *M/S/C: (Ysais/Hodges) moved to adjourn the meeting; motion carried.* 

#### NEXT MEETING - March 13, 2024