

Academic Senate

ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES- Approved

January 31, 2024; 3:30 p.m. Campus Center, Renegade Event Center

MEMBERS

Voting Members					
President	Erica Menchaca*	Present	Library/Ac. Tech.	Faith Bradham	Present
Vice President	Matt Andrasian-Jones	Present	Math-1 st	Donna Starr	Present
Secretary	Paula Parks	Present	Math-2 nd	Andrea Bridges	Present
Treasurer	Teresa McAllister	Present	Nursing-1 st	Alisha Loken	Present
ASCCC Delegate	Lisa Harding	Present	Nursing-2 nd	Malissa Buggs	Present
Adjunct Rep – 1 st	Debra Thorson	Present	Performing Arts	Robby Martinez	Present
Adjunct Rep – 2 nd	Justin Bell	Present	Philosophy	Anna Collins	Present
Agriculture	Heather Baltis	Present	Physical Science-1 st	Wade Ellis	Absent
AH (HEIT/Rad Tech)	Crystal Rodriguez	Present	Physical Science-2 nd	James McGarrah	Present
AST	VACANT		PSTP	Don Brady	Present
Art	Kristopher Stallworth	Present	Social Science-1 st	R. Allen Bolar	Present
Behavioral Science/CJ-1 st	Charles Daramola	Absent	Social Science-2 nd	Misty Stowers	Absent
Behavioral Science/CJ-2 nd	Kristin Maytubby	Present	Non-Voting Members		
Biology-1 st	VACANT		Past President	Nick Strobel	Present
Biology-2 nd	Ann-Marie Hodge	Present	AIQ Chair	Grace Commiso	Present
Business Education	Rudy Menjivar	Present	Assessment Chair	Rebecka Zepeda	Present
Communication-1 st	Michael Korcok	Present	Bookstore Chair	Michael McNellis	Present
Communication – 2 nd	Matthew Maddex	Present	Budget Chair	Steven Holmes	Absent
Counseling-1 st	Cynthia Zamora	Absent	Curriculum Chair	Michelle Hart	Absent
Counseling – 2 nd	Sarah Villasenor	Present	Curriculum Chair	Scott Dameron	Present
Education	Bill Chapman	Present	EMC Chair	Krista Moreland	Absent
EMLS	Michael Westwood	Absent	EODAC Chair	Gilbert Ayuk	Present
Engineering	Steve Brown	Present	Equivalency Chair	Kimberly Bligh	Present
English-1 st	Savanna Andrasian-Jones	Present	Facilities Chair	Pam Kelley	Absent
English-2 nd	Shane Jett	Absent	ISIT Chair	Bill Moseley	Absent
English-3 rd	Gloria Naso-Dumler	Present	PDC Chair	Bernadette Towns	Present
FACE	Melissa Ysais	Present	PRC Chair	Kimberly Nickell	Present
Foreign Language/ASL	Lourdes Aboytes	Present	Scholarship Chair	Laurel Mourtzanos	Absent
Industrial Technology	Klint Rigby	Absent	Safety Chair	Roy Allard	Absent
Kinesiology, H&A-1 st	Carl Dean	Present	BSGA Rep	Raya Arafah	Present
Kinesiology, H&A-2 nd	Zack Peters (Martinez)	Present			

Votes only in tie*



Academic Senate

PROXIES/GUESTS

Kristin Maytubby (proxy for Charles Daramola), Vayron Martinez (proxy for Zack Peters); Ann Tatum, Jessica Wojtysiak

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 3:32. All documents referenced herein are located on the <u>Academic Senate Website</u>.

ROLL CALL

Roll call was taken; quorum is met.

GOOD, WELFARE, AND CONCERNS

There were no good, welfare or concerns.

OPPORTUNITY TO ADDRESS THE SENATE

At this time, the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Academic Senate that is on the agenda or not on the agenda. Each speaker will be allowed a maximum of three (3) minutes. Fifteen (15) minutes shall be the maximum time allotment for public speakers regardless of the number of speakers at anyone(1) Senate meeting. At the discretion of a majority of the Senate, these times maybe extended. Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President or designee. Comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members. Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public. Written statements are posted to the Senate website.

<u>Agenda Item Public Statements</u> <u>Non-Agenda Item Public Statements</u> There were no requests to address the Senate.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

<u>January 31, 2024</u> M/S/C: (Maddex/Ysais) moved to adopt the agenda; motion carried. Academic Senate



M/S/C: (Ysais/Maddex) moved to add the Special Election as a voting item; motion carried.

CONSENT ITEMS M/S/C: (Bradham/Maddex) moved to approve Consent Items; motion carried.

<u>Approval of the Minutes</u> The minutes were TABLED

Standing Committee List v2

Screening Committee Appointments

- Laboratory Technician 1 STEM
- Academic Support Program Manager MESA
- MESA NSF Grant Program Manager

<u>Task Forces, Liaisons, Other Groups</u> <u>List v2</u>

Committee Charges

• <u>Enrollment Management Committee</u>

M/S/C: (Ysais/Chapman) moved to approve Consent Items; motion carried.

PRESENTATIONS

• Fraud Mitigation Efforts (Wojtysiak/Bligh/Dixon)

REPORTS

President's Report (Menchaca)- <u>Written Report</u> Officer Reports

- Vice President (Andrasian-Jones)
- Treasurer (McAllister)
- Secretary (Parks)
- ASCCC Delegate (Harding)
- SGA Report (Arafah)
- CCA Report (Tatum)-<u>written report</u>

COMMITTEE REPORTS

- AIQ (Commiso)
- Assessment (Zepeda)
- Bookstore (McNellis)-<u>written report</u>
- Budget (Holmes)
- Curriculum (Hart/Dameron)-<u>written report</u>
- DEI (Silva)

BAKERSFIELD COLLEGE

Academic Senate

- EMC (Moreland)
- EODAC (Ayuk)
- Equivalency (Bligh)
- ISIT (Moseley)
- Facilities (Kelley)
- Professional Development (Vacant)
- Program Review (Nickell)-<u>written report</u>
- Safety Advisory (Allard)
- Scholarship (Mourtzanos)

TASK FORCE/AD HOC/LIAISON COMMITTEE REPORTS

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

None

NEW BUSINESS

<u>Review Procedures for Standing Committees</u> Discussion: preference for tenured/tenured track; adj.

Review Procedures for Screening Committees

Discussion: ratio for faculty vs. admin = to Title 5 added paragraph on exclusive definition.

Budget Decision Criteria Document

Special Election College Council Rep C

M/S/C: (Maddex/Parks) moved to approve Special Election for 1 week nominations and 1 week voting period; motion carried.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

• Umoja Black History Month Conference, February 2nd 9:30am-2pm, registration required

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:58p.m. *M/S/C: (Thorson/Maddex) moved to adjourn the meeting; motion carried.*