

# **ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES- Approved**

November 29, 2023; 3:30 p.m. Campus Center, Renegade Event Center

## **MEMBERS**

Voting Members					
President	Erica Menchaca*	Present	Library/Ac. Tech.	Faith Bradham	Present
Vice President	Matt Andrasian-Jones	Present	Math-1 <sup>st</sup>	Donna Starr	Present
Secretary	Paula Parks	Present	Math-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Andrea Bridges	Present
Treasurer	Teresa McAllister	Present	Nursing-1 <sup>st</sup>	Alisha Loken	Present
ASCCC Delegate	Lisa Harding	Present	Nursing-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Malissa Buggs	Present
Adjunct Rep – 1 <sup>st</sup>	Debra Thorson	Present	Performing Arts	Robby Martinez	Absent
Adjunct Rep – 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Justin Bell	Present	Philosophy	Anna Collins	Present
Agriculture	Heather Baltis	Present	Physical Science-1 <sup>st</sup>	Wade Ellis	Present
AH (HEIT/Rad Tech)	Crystal Rodriguez	Absent	Physical Science-2 <sup>nd</sup>	James McGarrah	Present
AST	VACANT		PSTP	Don Brady	Present
Art	Kristopher Stallworth	Present	Social Science-1 <sup>st</sup>	R. Allen Bolar	Present
Behavioral Science/CJ-1st	Charles Daramola	Present	Social Science-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Misty Stowers	Absent
Behavioral Science/CJ-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Kristin Maytubby	Present	Non-Voting Members		
Biology-1 <sup>st</sup>	VACANT		Past President	Nick Strobel	Present
Biology-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Ann-Marie Hodge	Present	AIQ Chair	Grace Commiso	Present
Business Education	Rudy Menjivar	Present	Assessment Chair	Rebecka Zepeda	Present
Communication-1 <sup>st</sup>	Michael Korcok	Present	Bookstore Chair	Michael McNellis	Present
Communication – 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Matthew Maddex	Present	Budget Chair	Steven Holmes	Present
Counseling-1 <sup>st</sup>	Cynthia Zamora	Present	Curriculum Chair	Michelle Hart	Present
Counseling – 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Sarah Villasenor	Present	Curriculum Chair	Scott Dameron	Present
Education	Bill Chapman	Present	EMC Chair	Krista Moreland	Present
EMLS	Michael Westwood	Present	EODAC Chair	Gilbert Ayuk	Present
Engineering	Steve Brown	Present	Equivalency Chair	Kimberly Bligh	Present
English-1 <sup>st</sup>	Savanna Andrasian-Jones	Present	Facilities Chair	Pam Kelley	Present
English-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Shane Jett	Absent	ISIT Chair	Bill Moseley	Present
English-3 <sup>rd</sup>	Gloria Naso-Dumler	Present	PDC Chair	Bernadette Towns	Present
FACE	Melissa Ysais	Present	PRC Chair	Kimberly Nickell	Present
Foreign Language/ASL	Lourdes Aboytes	Present	Scholarship Chair	Laurel Mourtzanos	Present
Industrial Technology	Klint Rigby	Absent	Safety Chair	Roy Allard	Present
Kinesiology, H&A-1 <sup>st</sup>	Carl Dean (Goodman)	Present	BSGA Rep	Raya Arafah	Present
Kinesiology, H&A-2 <sup>nd</sup>	Zack Peters	Absent			

Votes only in tie\*



#### **PROXIES/GUESTS**

Lisa Harding (proxy for Don Brady), Paula Parks (proxy for Debra Thorson)

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order at 3:32. *All documents referenced herein are located on the <u>Academic Senate Website</u>.* 

## **ROLL CALL**

Roll call was taken; quorum is met.

## GOOD, WELFARE, AND CONCERNS

• The Art Department has their ceramics sale 11/29/2023 @ 5pm

#### **OPPORTUNITY TO ADDRESS THE SENATE**

At this time, the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Academic Senate that is on the agenda or not on the agenda. Each speaker will be allowed a maximum of three (3) minutes. Fifteen (15) minutes shall be the maximum time allotment for public speakers regardless of the number of speakers at anyone (1) Senate meeting. At the discretion of a majority of the Senate, these times maybe extended. Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President or designee. Comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members. Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public. Written statements are posted to the Senate website.

Agenda Item Public Statements
Non-Agenda Item Public Statements

There were no requests to address the Senate.

## ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

November 22, 2023

M/S/C: (Maddex/Ysais) moved to adopt the agenda; motion carried unanimously.



#### **CONSENT ITEMS**

M/S/C: (Ysais/Maddex) moved to approve consent items; motion carried unanimously.

#### Approval of the Minutes

- November 8, 2023
- November 11, 2023

#### **Standing Committee**

• Standing Committee Appointments – pulled from Consent

M/S/C: (Maddex/Ysais) moved to approve with corrections; motion carried with one abstention.

## **Screening Committee Appointments**

- Program Director-Nursing/Allied Health
- Task Force/Ad Hoc/Other Groups & Liaison

## PRESIDENT REPORT (Menchaca) - Written Report

#### **OFFICER REPORTS**

- Vice President (Andrasian-Jones) Written Report
- Treasurer (McAllister) No Report
- Secretary (Parks) No Report
- ASCCC Delegate (Harding) Written Report
- SGA Report (Arafah) No Report
- CCA Report (Tatum) No Report

#### **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

- Assessment (Zepeda) Written Report
- Budget (Holmes) Written Report
- DEI (Silva) No Report
- EODAC (Ayuk) Written Report
- Facilities (Kelley) No Report
- Professional Development (Towns) Written Report
- Safety Advisory (Allard) Written Report

## TASK FORCE/AD HOC/LIAISON COMMITTEE REPORTS

- AB 1705 Taskforce (Lewis) Written Report
- CTE Liaison (Rigby) No Report
- District EEO (Acosta) No Report
- Rising Scholars Faculty Liaison (Hirayama) No Report



• DEI (Silva) – No Report

#### **UNFINISHED BUSINESS**

<u>Department Name Change: Library to Library and Academic Technology</u>

M/S/C: (Korcok/Maddox) moved to approve the Name Change; motion carried

unanimously.

Review of Guidelines for Change (from 2007)

M/S/C: (Bradham/Korcok) moved to approve the Guidelines; motion carried.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

No New Business items to review.

#### **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

• BC Employee Holiday Party (November 30, 2023)

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting was adjourned at 4:05p.m.; the minutes were recorded by Catherine Guerrero, Administrative Assistant.

*M/S/C:* (Ysais/Buggs) moved to adjourn the meeting; motion carried unanimously.