

BAKERSFIELD COLLEGE

ACADEMIC SENATE SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES- Approved

November 22, 2023; 3:30 p.m. Renegade Event Center

MEMBERS

Voting Members					
President	Erica Menchaca*	Present	Library/Ac. Tech.	Faith Bradham	Present
Vice President	Matt Andrasian-Jones	Present	Math-1 st	Donna Starr	Present
Secretary	Paula Parks	Present	Math-2 nd	Andrea Bridges	Present
Treasurer	Teresa McAllister	Absent	Nursing-1 st	Alisha Loken	Present
ASCCC Delegate	Lisa Harding	Present	Nursing-2 nd	Malissa Buggs	Absent
Adjunct Rep – 1 st	Debra Thorson	Present	Performing Arts	Robby Martinez	Absent
Adjunct Rep – 2 nd	Justin Bell	Present	Philosophy	Anna Collins	Present
Agriculture	Heather Baltis	Present	Physical Science-1 st	Wade Ellis	Present
AH (HEIT/Rad Tech)	Crystal Rodriguez	Present	Physical Science-2 nd	James McGarrah	Present
AST	VACANT		PSTP	Don Brady	Present
Art	Kristopher Stallworth	Present	Social Science-1 st	R. Allen Bolar	Present
Behavioral Science/CJ-1 st	Charles Daramola	Absent	Social Science-2 nd	Misty Stowers	Absent
Behavioral Science/CJ-2 nd	Kristin Maytubby	Present	Non-Voting Members		
Biology-1 st	VACANT		Past President	Nick Strobel	Absent
Biology-2 nd	Ann-Marie Hodge	Present	AIQ Chair	Grace Commiso	Absent
Business Education	Rudy Menjivar	Absent	Assessment Chair	Rebecka Zepeda	Absent
Communication-1 st	Michael Korcok	Present	Bookstore Chair	Michael McNellis	Absent
Communication – 2 nd	Matthew Maddex	Present	Budget Chair	Steven Holmes	Absent
Counseling-1 st	Cynthia Zamora	Absent	Curriculum Chair	Michelle Hart	Absent
Counseling – 2 nd	Sarah Villasenor	Present	Curriculum Chair	Scott Dameron	Present
Education	Bill Chapman	Present	EMC Chair	Krista Moreland	Absent
EMLS	Michael Westwood	Present	EODAC Chair	Gilbert Ayuk	Absent
Engineering	Steve Brown	Present	Equivalency Chair	Kimberly Bligh	Absent
English-1 st	Savanna Andrasian-Jones	Present	Facilities Chair	Pam Kelley	Absent
English-2 nd	Shane Jett	Absent	ISIT Chair	Bill Moseley	Absent
English-3 rd	Gloria Naso-Dumler	Present	PDC Chair	Bernadette Towns	Absent
FACE	Melissa Ysais	Present	PRC Chair	Kimberly Nickell	Present
Foreign Language/ASL	Lourdes Aboytes	Present	Scholarship Chair	Laurel Mourtzanos	Absent
Industrial Technology	Klint Rigby	Present	Safety Chair	Roy Allard	Absent
Kinesiology, H&A-1 st	Carl Dean (Goodman)	Absent	BSGA Rep	Raya Arafah	Absent
Kinesiology, H&A-2 nd	Zack Peters	Present			

*Votes only in tie**

PROXIES/GUESTS

Kristin Maytubby (proxy for Charles Daramola), Bill Chapman (proxy for Tersa McAllister), Michael Korcok (proxy for Melissa Ysais)/Cindy Miranda

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 3:31pm. *All documents referenced herein are located on the <u>Academic Senate website</u>.*





ROLL CALL

Roll was taken; quorum was met.

GOOD, WELFARE, AND CONCERNS

- Chris Holland's mother passed away
- <u>Agricultural Science Building Ground Breaking Ceremony</u> is scheduled for November 30, 8:30a.m.
- Check out the <u>Library Workshops</u>
- The Chemistry club is holding a succulent fundraiser
- The BC Rodeo was a success
- The Andrasian-Jones' are expecting twin boys

OPPORTUNITY TO ADDRESS THE SENATE

At this time, the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Academic Senate that is on the agenda or not on the agenda. Each speaker will be allowed a maximum of three (3) minutes. Fifteen (15) minutes shall be the maximum time allotment for public speakers regardless of the number of speakers at any one (1) Senate meeting. At the discretion of a majority of the Senate, these times may be extended. Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President or designee. Comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members. Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public. Written statements are posted to the Senate website.

- Agenda Item Public Statements
- Non-Agenda Item Public Statements

There were no requests to address the Senate.

ADOPTION OF THE <u>AGENDA</u> (Addition of items that require immediate action, which did not come to the attention of the Senate until after the agenda was posted requires 2/3 vote of members present)

M/S/C: (Maddex/Ellis) moved to adopt the Agenda; motion carried.

REPORTS

President – <u>written report</u> Officer Reports – Erica, Matt and Lisa attended the ASCCC Fall Plenary SGA Reports – no report CCA Reports – no report



FACULTY APPOINTMENTS

Confidential Constituent Meetings with Chancellor Candidates

M/S/C: (Maddex/Naso-Dumler) moved to appoint the three faculty members as recommended by the E-Board; motion carried with one abstention-McGarrah [primary motion].

Discussion took place over the process and reasoning the E-Board had when making the recommendation.

M/S/C: (Bolar/Bell) moved to amend the motion by replacing Antonio Alfaro with Oliver Rosales; motion carried.

The Faculty Appointments (Paula Parks, James McGarrah, Oliver Rosales) will be forwarded to the Vice Chancellor of Human Resources.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

BC Employee Holiday Party (November 30, 11:45a.m.-1:45p.m.)

ADJOURNEMNT

M/S/C: (S. Andrasian-Jones/Parks) moved to adjourn the meeting at 4:00 p.m.; motion carried.

The minutes were recorded by Tarina Perry, Administrative Secretary.

NEXT MEETING - November 29, 2023