

ACADEMIC SENATE- Special Meeting April 6, 2022; 3:30p.m.-Webinar APPROVED MINUTES

MEMBERS:

President	Nick Strobel	Present	Behavioral Sc/CJ-2	Karimeh Amin	Present
Vice President	Erica Menchaca	Present	Biology	Ashley Choate	Present
Secretary	Paula Parks	Present	BMIT	Murad Zikri	Present
Treasurer	Teresa McAllister	Present	Communication	Christine Cruz Boone	Present
ASCCC Rep	Lisa Harding	Absent	Counseling-1	VACANT (Diaz proxy)	Absent
Non-voting committee chairs			Counseling-2	Sarah Villasenor	Present
AIQ Chair	Grace Commiso	Present	Education	Michelle Hart	Present
Assessment Chair	Faith Bradham	Absent	EMLS	John Hart	Present
Bookstore Chair	Michael McNellis	Absent	Engineering	Maryam Jalaifarahani	Absent
Budget Chair	Vacant	N/A	English-1	Daniel Gomes (Dison proxy)	Absent
Curriculum Chair	Charles Daramola	Absent	English-2	VACANT	N/A
Curriculum Chair	Keri Kennedy	Present	English-3	Shane Jett	Absent
EMC Chair	Vacant	N/A	FACE	Melissa Ysais	Absent
EODAC Chair	Tommy Tunson	Absent	Foreign Language/ASL	Qiu Jimenez	Present
Equivalency Chair	Michael Ivey	Absent	Industrial Technology	Ron Grays	Absent
Facilities Chair	Pam Kelley	Absent	Kinesiology, Health & Athletics	Carl Dean	Present
ISIT Chair	Pam Boyles	Present	Library/Academic Technology	Alex Rockey	Present
Professional Dev. Chair	Matt Andrasian-Jones	Present	Math-1	Kris Toler	Absent
Program Rev. Chair	Kimberly Nickell	Present	Math-2	Dillon Giblin	Present
Scholarship Chair	Rebecca Monks	Absent	Nursing-1	Noelia Citialin	Present
Safety Chair	Roy Allard	Present	Nursing-2	Malissa Buggs	Absent
Voting representatives			Performing Arts	Robby Martinez	Present
Adjunct Rep	Glenn Samples	Absent	Philosophy	Reggie Williams (Collins proxy)	Present
Agriculture	Heather Baltis	Absent	Physical Science	Ximena Da Silva Tavares	Present
Allied Health	Heather Shaffstall	Absent	PSTP	Don Brady	Absent
AST	Paul Murray	Present	Social Science-1	Alan Bolar	Absent
Art	Ronnie Wrest	Present	Social Science-2	Michael Harvath	Present
Behavioral Sc/CJ-1	Gabriel Searcy	Present	SGA	Jordan Amey/Amanda Amos	Absent

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 3:33pm; quorum was met. 22 voting members + 6 non-voting facultychairs + President (votes only in ties).

GOOD, WELFARE, AND CONCERNS

There were no welfare and concerns mentioned.

OPPORTUNITY TO ADDRESS THE SENATE

At this time, the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Academic Senate that is on the agenda or not on the agenda. Each speaker will be allowed a maximum of three (3) minutes. Fifteen (15) minutes shall be the maximum time allotment for public speakers regardless of the number of speakers at any one (1) Senate meeting. At the discretion of a majority of the Senate, these times may

be extended.

Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President or designee. Comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members. Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public.

There were no requests to address the Senate.

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA

There were no additions to the agenda.

CONSENT ITEMS (items passed by general consent)

Screening Committees

Dean of Instruction

Associate Dean of Instruction

M/S/C: (C. Cruz-Boone, J. Hart) moved to approve the consent items; motion carried unanimously.

PRESIDEN'S REPORT

President (Strobel)- N/A

OFFICER REPORTS

Vice President (Menchaca) – N/A Treasurer (McAllister) –N/A Secretary (Parks) –N/A ASCCC Rep (Harding)- N/A BCSGA (Amey) – N/A CCA (Designee) – N/A

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 3:36 p.m.; Meeting minutes recorded by Tarina Perry.