

ACADEMIC SENATE March 9, 2022; 3:30p.m.-Webinar/Campus Center 218 **SPECIAL MEETING** APPROVED MINUTES

MEMBERS:

MEMBERS.					
President	Nick Strobel	Present	Behavioral Sc/CJ-2	Karimeh Amin	Present
Vice President	Erica Menchaca	Present	Biology	Ashley Choate	Present
Secretary	Paula Parks	Present	BMIT	Murad Zikri	Present
Treasurer	Teresa McAllister	Present	Communication	Christine Cruz Boone	Present
ASCCC Rep	Lisa Harding	Present	Counseling-1	VACANT (Diaz proxy)	Present
Non-voting committee chairs			Counseling-2	Sarah Villasenor	Present
AIQ Chair	Grace Commiso	Absent	Education	Michelle Hart	Present
Assessment Chair	Faith Bradham	Present	EMLS	John Hart	Present
Bookstore Chair	Michael McNellis	Absent	Engineering	Maryam Jalaifarahani	Absent
Budget Chair	VACANT		English-1	Daniel Gomes (Dison proxy)	Present
Curriculum Chair	Charles Daramola	Absent	English-2	VACANT	
Curriculum Chair	Keri Kennedy	Present	English-3	Shane Jett	Absent
EMC Chair	Krista Moreland	Absent	FACE	Melissa Ysais	Present
EODAC Chair	Tommy Tunson	Present	Foreign Language/ASL	Qiu Jimenez	Present
Equivalency Chair	Michael Ivey	Absent	Industrial Technology	Ron Grays	Present
Facilities Chair	Pam Kelley	Present	Kinesiology, Health & Athletics	Carl Dean	Present
ISIT Chair	Pam Boyles	Present	Library/Academic Technology	Alex Rockey	Present
Professional Dev. Chair	Matt Andrasian-Jones	Absent	Math-1	Kris Toler	Present
Program Rev. Chair	Kimberly Nickell	Present	Math-2	Dillon Giblin	Present
Scholarship Chair	Rebecca Monks	Absent	Nursing-1	Noelia Citialin	Present
Safety Chair	Roy Allard	Absent	Nursing-2	Malissa Buggs	Absent
Voting representatives			Performing Arts	Robby Martinez	Present
Adjunct Rep	Glenn Samples	Absent	Philosophy	Reggie Williams (Collins proxy)	Present
Agriculture	Heather Baltis	Present	Physical Science	Ximena Da Silva Tavares	Present
Allied Health	Heather Shaffstall	Present	PSTP	Don Brady	Absent
AST	Paul Murray	Absent	Social Science-1	Alan Bolar	Present
Art	Ronnie Wrest	Present	Social Science-2	Michael Harvath	Present
Behavioral Sc/CJ-1	Gabriel Searcy	Present	SGA	Jordan Amey/Amanda Amos	Absent

GUESTS: Craig Hayward, Sooyeon Kim, Billie Jo Rice, Kathleen Rush, Joshua Lewis, Helen Acosta, Sarah Bird Allen, Jonathan Brown, Tom Greenwood, Andrea Tumblin, Donna Starr, Claire Lahorgue, Thomas Mieh, Kevin Ruiz, Kimberly Bligh, Matt Garrett, Kellie Smith, Andrea Thorson

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 3:35pm; quorum was met. 30 voting members + 7 non-voting faculty chairs + President (votes only in ties).

GOOD, WELFARE, AND CONCERNS

Nancy Clark, retired Child Development Professor passed away.

OPPORTUNITY TO ADDRESS THE SENATE

At this time, the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Academic Senate that is on the agenda or not on the agenda. Each speaker will be allowed a maximum of three (3) minutes. Fifteen (15) minutes shall be the maximum time allotment for public speakers regardless of the number of speakers at any one (1) Senate meeting. At the discretion of a majority of the Senate, these times may be extended.

Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President or designee. Comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members. Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public.

The following individuals addressed the Senate. Individual written statements are located on the <u>Academic Senate website.</u>

- Joshua Lewis
- STEM Chairs
- Ionathan Brown
- Helen Acosta
- Sarah Bird Allen
- Kathleen Rush
- Donna Starr

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA

There were no additions to the agenda.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

BC Equitable Placement

Supporting Documents are located on the Academic Senate website:

- Guidance Memo from CCCCO about AB 705
- Guidance Memo highlight key passages
- Glossary of Terms used in AB 705 improvement Plan form (CCCCO)
- AB 705 Improvement Plan Form Instructions and Form Questions
- BC's answers to AB 705 Improvement Plan Form (draft)
- Data Addendum Template (CCCCO) Excel file
- BC's data for Data Addendum + other success data Excel file
- AB 705 Improvement Plan FAQ
- BC Completion Data with Equity breakdown public tableau dashboard
- History of AB 705 implementation at BC (for College Council)
- Research: How long HS GPA is valid predictor
- Research: Transfer-level English/Math success for special populations
- Research: Maximizing English Com for ELL/ESL students
- Research: Maximizing Math Throughput for those without HS Algebra II
- Research: Placing Special Admit via extended MMAP
- CCCCO AB 705 webinar: Nov 29 slides

- CCCCO AB 705 webinar: February 14 slides
- Financial implications of not complying with AB 705
- Proposed AB1705 (tightens AB 705) introduced 26 Jan 2022

There was extensive discussion and questioning of Craig Hayward about the data in the Data Addendum and then of Vice President Rice about her rationale in choosing Option 2.

M/S: (M. Hart, K. Toler) moved to approve Option 3 of the AB 705 Improvement Plan (motion on table from previous meeting); motion fails.

Vote: Yes #7 (M. Hart, A. Collins, A. Choate, X. Tavares, C. Cruz-Boone, M. Ysais, R. Wrest); No #14 (A. Rockey, A. Bolar, H. Shaffstall, P. Parks, S. Villasenor, M. Zikri, R. Martinez, M. Harvath, V. Diaz, H. Baltis, G. Searcy, C. Dean, L. Harding, N. Citialin); Abstention #4 (J. Hart, E. Menchaca, D. Giblin, Q. Jimenez).

M/S/C: (E. Menchaca, R. Martinez) moved to vote on Option 2 of the AB 705 Improvement Plan; motion carried.

Vote: Yes #14 (M. Zikri, H. Shaffstall, S Villasenor, A. Bolar, P. Parks, L. Harding, C. Dean, M. Harvath, V. Diaz, N. Citialin, A. Rockey, H. Baltis, R. Martinez, G. Searcy), No#7 (R. Grays, J. Hart, M. Ysais, A. Choate, C. Dison, C. Cruz-Boone, R. Wrest); Abstain #6 (A. Collins, M. Hart, D. Giblin, X. Tavares, E. Menchaca, Q. Jimenez).

M/S/C: (E. Menchaca, C. Cruz-Boone) moved to approve the rest of the AB 705 Improvement Plan; motion.

Vote: Yes #19 (Q. Jimenez, J. Hart, A. Bolar, M. Harvath, L. Harding, C. Dean, S. Villasenor, H. Baltis, G. Searcy, P. Parks, A. Rockey, H. Shaffstall, V. Diaz, C. Cruz-Boone, N. Citialin, R. Martinez, A. Choate, C. Dison, M. Ysais); No #5 (M. Hart, A. Collins, E. Menchaca, R. Wrest, X. Tavares); Abstention #1 (D. Giblin).

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 5:26 pm Meeting minutes recorded by Tarina Perry, Administrative Secretary