Board Policy Section Five Faculty/Academic Senate

5G6 Selection Committees

5G6A The selection committee shall consist of at least a majority of faculty. The selection committee shall be composed of at most:

5G6A1 Three (3) faculty members appointed by the Academic Senate in consultation with the faculty of the discipline, one (1) of whom shall be the department/division chair, if any, and one (1) area administrator appointed by the College President; **or** Four (4) or more faculty members appointed by the Academic Senate in consultation with the faculty of the discipline, one (1) of which shall be the department/division chair, if any, and up to two (2) administrators appointed by the College President, one (1) of which shall be the area administrator;

5G6A2 One (1) College Affirmative Action Committee member who shall be a faculty member if at all possible appointed by the College Affirmative Action Committee chair.

5G6A2A The role of the Affirmative Action Committee member shall be to encourage staff diversity and monitor affirmative action compliance with respect to federal and State law, State regulations and District/College policies and procedures.

5G6A3 Additional members as agreed upon by the College President and the Academic Senate President.

5G6B The area administrator will convene the initial meeting of the selection committee. The selection committee shall elect a chair from this committee, who shall be from the discipline, if at all possible.