## Reports to Academic Senate for April 2 & College Council for April 25, 2014 (April 4 cancelled)

Kate Pluta, faculty co-chair, April 2, 2014

- Accreditation Steering Committee (ASC)
- Program Review Committee (PRC)

# **ASC focus:**

- ASC has taken a proposal to Academic Senate and College Council to change the committee name, charge, and membership *from* the Accreditation Steering Committee (ASC) to the Accreditation & Institutional Quality Committee (AIQ). The proposal is now on both agendas for a vote.
- ASC co-chairs are co-leads of the Mission Review Team. The mission guides everything we do; everything we do supports the mission. ACCJC has proposed new language for the standards, including I.A.1 (see pink handout). Reviewing and revising the mission is fundamental to next year's work:

College Goals → 2012-2015

Strategic Plan and Focus Documents → 2012-2015

ACCJC Midterm Report → Fall 2015

 The following are members of the Mission Review Team: Nan Gomez-Heitzeberg and Kate Pluta, coleads, Zav Dadabhoy (VP Student Affairs), Manny Mourtzanos (PRC), Janet Fulks (scorecard), John Gerhold (ILOs), Cornelio Rodriguez (Academic Senate), Tina Johnson (CSEA), Shelby Sward (SGA).

#### PRC focus:

- In its efforts to improve the Annual Update forms to integrate college planning, evaluation, and resource allocation, members of PRC have met with ISIT, Assessment, Curriculum, CTE chairs, SDCC, Laura Lorigo (budget), and the institutional researcher (district).
- The committee is reviewing the Three-year Comprehensive Program Review (CPR) pilot submissions to analyze content and process. Key Question: Does the CPR ask the right questions and provide the information the college needs?
- The committee is finalizing a Program Review Handbook.
- The committee is developing a cycle for the Comprehensive PR for all college programs (administrative, student services, and instructional). The distribution of programs (about a third each year) is dependent upon the master list of curriculum.
- Phase 2 of the Annual Update process, which includes Certificates of Achievement, will roll out this
  fall.

If you have any questions, please contact me, or your representatives on the committees:

### ASC:

**Faculty:** Basic Skills—Odella Johnson, *CTE—vacant*, General Education—Rachel Vickrey, Library—Kirk Russell, Program Review Liaison—Kim Nickell, Student Services—Bill La, *Assessment Committee Liaison—vacant*, and At-Large—Andrea Garrison.

Classified: Shannon Musser.

**Administration:** Nan Gomez-Heitzeberg (co-chair), Bonnie Suderman, Todd Coston, and Sue Granger-Dickson.

Research representative from District Office: Lisa Fitzgerald.

# PRC:

**Faculty:** Basic Skills—Kim Nickell, CTE—Greg Chamberlain, General Education—Billie Jo Rice, Library—Anna Agenjo, Faculty Chair and Directors Council—Jennifer Johnson, Student Services—Kathy Rosellini, Assessment Committee liaison—John Carpenter, At-Large—Lynn Krausse.

Classified: Meg Stidham, Kristin Rabe, and Bernadette Martinez.

**Administration:** Manny Mourtzanos (co-chair), Liz Rozell, and Laura Lorigo.

Research representative from District Office: Michael Carley.